Voting In Uttar Pradesh, Manipur Today -
Voting In Uttar Pradesh, Manipur Today
Posted 04 Mar 2017 12:19 PM

Image Source:


Uttar Pradesh voter turnout till 11 am : 23.3%

Uttar Pradesh and Manipur is voting in the sixth and first phase of elections for their respective assemblies today. This is the penultimate phase in Uttar Pradesh where polling started on February 11, and for Manipur this is the first of two phased election. People of India's most populous state will vote for 49 seats, while in Manipur, 38 seats are contesting.

In UP, the districts Mau, Gorakhpur, Maharajganj, Kushinagar, Deoria, Azamgarh and Ballia, and in Manipur, Imphal East, Imphal West, Bishnupur and the hill districts of Churachandpur and Kangpokpi will vote.

In the run-up to the election for the 60-member House of the north eastern state, all political parties in their campaigns mainly focused on the continuing economic blockade imposed by the United Naga Council and the state government's inability to break it.

BJP and Congress levelled charges of corruption against leaders of each other's parties. Interestingly, both the parties have equal number of leaders with criminal cases against them.

Mayawati's BSP tops the list with 24 candidates with criminal records in the fray this phase, in Uttar Pradesh.

In Uttar Pradesh, Samajwadi Party patriarch Mulayam Singh Yadav's Azamgarh Lok Sabha constituency remains in focus. The state has been witnessing tough war of words between Chief Minister Akhilesh Yadav and Prime Minister Narendra Modi ever since campaigning began.

- Irom Sharmila casts her vote at Khurai assembly constituency, says she is confident of her victory.

Leave a comment: (Your email will not be published)