Google can delete Android backups if your phone remains inactive for 2 months - watsupptoday.com
Google can delete Android backups if your phone remains inactive for 2 months
Posted 16 Sep 2017 10:39 AM

Agencies
Do you switch from one smartphone to another frequently? You are perhaps careful about backing up everything on the cloud, to ensure that your key details such as contacts, messages, photos, and videos remain intact. But what if you switched to another Android phone with a newer account, and forgot to take backup from the older phone? Or from an Android to an iPhone, and never used the older phone? Here’s something you should know:  Google can automatically delete Android backup for devices that have remained “inactive” for two months.

The saddest part is Google may do so without notifying the user, and there is no way to restore the data. A Ritter who goes by the name of Tanglebrook found out about this practice in a hard way.

The miffed Redittor revealed that he had parted ways with his Nexus 6P to switch to a new iPhone. But after a few months, he had to return to Nexus 6P for some reason, and he discovered that all of his Android data had vanished. He further claimed that Android settings, Wi-Fi passwords, and the data for at least 50 apps were also gone.

“There was no warning from Google. They just deleted my data. There’s apparently an expiration date that shows up under the backup if I had checked the Backup folder sooner, but there was no notification, no email, no proactive notice at all, and most importantly, no option to use the 100gb of my Drive storage…,” said the agitated Redittor.

Tanglebrook also pointed out Google’s disclaimer on its support page. “Your backup will remain as long as you use your device. If you don’t use your device for 2 weeks, you may see an expiration date below your backup,” the warning reads.

Leave a comment: (Your email will not be published)