ICF presents ‘Choupaal’ at Surinsar under Heritage Series - watsupptoday.com
ICF presents ‘Choupaal’ at Surinsar under Heritage Series
Posted 06 Dec 2016 01:08 PM

JAMMU, Dec 5: A mega- cultural event ‘Choupaal’ was conducted by Indian Cultural Forum (ICF) at Surinsar under its Heritage Series of Galaxy Programmes of the ICF.
The programme was designed for the rural areas of this region to make an effort to keep the traditional art and cultural values alive among common people. Surinder Singh Seerat, a well known Punjabi writer from Kashmir, now settled in California, presided over the function and Subash Singh Advocate, former village Sarpanch, was the chief guest on this occasion.
The intellectuals, writers, artists and the prominent people of the area attended this programme. A multi- lingual Kavi Sammelan was held and singers presented poetry of Dogri poets of the region.
Welcoming the guests, Dr Lalit Magotra, Patron of ICF, highlighted the achievements of ICF and told that ICF is organizing different programmes under the Galaxy Series viz. One Poet and multiple number of singers presenting his poetry; Melody Series- presenting one singer with poetry of many poets; Majlis- a literary get together at the residence of one intellectual and sharing creative works and Heritage Series (Choupaal) for conducting literary and cultural activity in the rural areas.
In his address Subhash Singh appreciated the programme and congratulated the organizers for choosing Surinsar for conducting Choupaal where the local people had an opportunity to have the reflection of local culture in its varying hues.
The folk songs and poetry of Dogri poets of the region were presented by Satvir Jamwal, Manju Bala, Apoorva Jamwal, Amarjot Kour, Barbie Dorjee, Rishabh Dorjee, Jaideep Rattan, Sham Sajan, Vivek Mohan and C S Katal, on the lyrics of Tara Chand Kalaandari, Sita Ram Sapolia, Usha Kiran Kiran, Bishan Singh Dardi, Kewal Krishan Shakir and Mohan Singh. Music Directors for this segment were Sham Sajan and Rishabh Dorjee.
The poets who presented their poetry included: Kuldeep Kippi, Kewal Kumar Kewal, Pyasa Anjum, Rattan Bhardwaj, O P Shakir, Promila Manhas, Roshan Baral Roshan, Suraj Rattan, Sushil Begana, Chanchal Bhasin, Usha Kiran Kiran, Randhir S Raipuria, Tara Chand Kalaandari, Bishan Singh Dardi, Vijaya Thakur, Gyaneshwar Sharma, Sita Ram Sapolia, Chandu Bhaoo, Balwan S Jamoria, Baljeet S Raina and Surinder Singh Seerat.

Leave a comment: (Your email will not be published)