Vijay Hazare Trophy: Hyderabad crushes J&K by 149 runs -
Vijay Hazare Trophy: Hyderabad crushes J&K by 149 runs
Posted 13 Feb 2018 04:34 PM

Hyderabad remained among contention for quarterfinals stage after crushing Jammu and Kashmir by 149 runs in Vijay Hazare Trophy at the Rajiv Gandhi Stadium, here on Monday. Hyderabad is on fourth place in Group D with two matches in hand.Batting first, Hyderabad put up a reasonable 312 in 50 overs. After losing three wickets for 41 in quick intervals, the reliable Opener K Rohit Rayudu (130 off 130 balls; 11×4, 3×6) gave the necessary thrust to the Hyderabad innings. Batting steadily and confidently, Rohit Rayudu ensured that Hyderabad had a decent total to defend.Hyderabad lost first wicket of Akshath Reddy (18 off 28, 2×4) at 31 runs in 8.3 overs followed by second T Ravi Teja (2) and third wicket of Mehdi Hasan (1) at 41 runs in 10.6 overs.After the loss of three wickets, K Rohit Rayudu and B Sandeep (72 off 74, 5×4) set a good partnership of 171 runs. B Sandeep lost fifth wicket at 212 runs.A T Rayudu (9), Sumanth Kolla (8), Akash Bhandari (18), Saaketh (23) and Ravi Kiran (4) were the other scorers while and Md Siraj remained not out at 6.For Jammu and Kashmir, Umar Nazir, shook the Hyderabad top and middle order by. Umar sent back five players in his ten over spell. Rohit Sharma, Abhishek Bhat and Deepak Dogra grabbed one wicket each.In reply, Jammu and Kashmir team failed to chase the target and was bundled out at 163 runs in 34.1 overs.J&K were reduced to 97 for 5 in 22.2 overs when Fazil Rashid (1) was bowled by Md Siraj, who also dismissed last batsman Rohit Sharma (1).Earlier, openers Ahmad Omar Banday (26 off 20, 5×4) and Shubham Khajuria (35 off 54, 3×4) played a sensible game and put 42 runs on board but in sixth over Banday lost his wicket. Ian Chauhan was run out at 13 while Parvez Rasool was sent to pavilion by Saaketh at 13 off 19 balls. Middle order Shubham Singh Pundir (20 off 28, 2×4) and Puneet Kumar (43 off 34 balls, 4×4, 3×6) played a good game but no other batsman of J&K touched double figure mark. Fazil Rashid (1), Abhishek Bhat (1), Deepak Dogra (not out 2) and Rohit Sharma (1) were the other scorers.

Leave a comment: (Your email will not be published)