PM to address 6th convocation of SKUAST-J on May 19 -
PM to address 6th convocation of SKUAST-J on May 19
Posted 16 May 2018 01:24 PM

Prime Minister Narendra Modi will address the sixth convocation ceremony of the Sher-e-Kashmir University of Agricultural Sciences and Technology in Jammu (SKUAST-J) on May 19, Vice Chancellor Pradeep Kumar Sharma said on Tuesday.
Governor N.N Vohra, chancellor of the university, and Chief Minister Mehbooba Mufti with galaxy of dignitaries including policymakers, academicians, administrators, members of university council and board of management will also attend the programme on Saturday, Sharma told reporters.
“We used to hold convocations at the auditorium of the University of Jammu. This is for the first time, the function is being held at SKUAST-Jammu campus,” he said.
“The convocation will start at 3:15 PM on May 19 in Baba Jitto auditorium of the SKUAST-Jammu at Chatha,” he said.
Sharma said the prime minister “has accepted the request to be the Chief Guest” at the convocation.
He said the university was ranked 10th among all the state agricultural universities in the country during 2017-18.
Dr Dileep Kachroo, Registrar SKUAST-J, briefed that SKUAST-Jammu in its 6th Convocation shall award 444 degrees to 215 graduates (84 Agricultural, 91 Veterinary Sciences and Animal Husbandry and 40 Biotechnology), 174 postgraduate (67 Agriculture, 9 Biotechnology, 12 Basic Sciences, 09 MBA in Agri-Business Management and 77 Veterinary Sciences) and 55 Doctoral programmes (25 Agricultural Sciences, 03 Basic Sciences, 09 Biotechnology and 37 Veterinary Sciences).
Besides this, he said, six Gold Medals (Undergraduate programmes) shall be awarded to meritorious students, 100 merit certificates (Post Graduates and Doctoral programmes) will also be awarded to the meritorious students from the university.
The press conference was also attended by Dr. Amrish Vaid, Dr. Vikas Tandon, Dr. P.K. Rai, Dr. Rakesh, Dr. Punit, Zameer -ul-Haq, Dr. B. Ajrawat, Dr. Vishal and Dr. Veena, Vikas Gandotra. The vote of thanks was extended by Dr. Vivak M. Arya.

Leave a comment: (Your email will not be published)