Anganwari workers, helpers’ protest continues -
Anganwari workers, helpers’ protest continues
Posted 31 May 2018 04:24 PM

Angry Anganwari workers and helpers continued their protest and sat on a Dharna at the Exhibition Ground demanding hike in honourarium. Protesters raised slogans against the State Government for not increasing their honorarium. The Anganwari protesters, while addressing the media, said, “We are on strike since more than three month and all Anganwari Centres in Jammu and Kashmir are still closed due to negligence of State Government for not fulfilling our demands.” “The strike will continue till the government will not take any favourable decision regarding our demands,” they asserted. “We are demanding an increase in honorarium, pension, and medical leave for both workers and helpers. We are also demanding the promotion of employees as per the seniority basis. We have been demanding justice from the government for our genuine rights,” they maintained. The protestors said that besides doing the ICDS work, they also perform duties of the health department, education department and social welfare department. “But we are never paid for the extra work,” they said.
Meanwhile, State Congress unit asked the State Government to immediately address the genuine issues of agitating Anganwari workers and helpers of the Social Welfare Department, as they are on roads for more than two months in this scorching heat and the government is unable deal with the situation.
Senior leaders of JKPCC have expressed grave concern over the continued neglect of the issues of agitating workers and the attitude of the government in this regard with the female employees.
They said that it is very unfortunate that the government is unsympathetic towards their plight and unable to address the demands. They asked the government to immediately find an amicable way out to end the agitation and accept their genuine demands.
Signatories to the statement include Raman Bhalla, Mula Ram, Kanta Bhan, M.S Niaz, Ravinder Sharma, Majid Wani, Shabir Khan, Manmohan Singh, Namrata Sharma, Manjit Singh and Faqir Nath.

Leave a comment: (Your email will not be published)