Literature forms big constituent of culture, community: Moti Kaul -
Literature forms big constituent of culture, community: Moti Kaul
Posted 09 Aug 2018 01:10 PM

JAMMU, Aug 8: Famous poet Prem Nath Shad’s book of devotional poetry ‘Bhajan Sumran’ was released in a function, organised jointly by Vyeth, a Socio-Cultural Organisation and Hindu Education Society of Kashmir (HESK), here today.
Pt. Moti Kaul, President of HESK and Prof Virendar Rawal, President Vyeth, hosted the programme.
Bri Nath Bethab, a renowned broadcaster and a poet read a paper on the book.
Vir Ji Sumbly, a renowned artist was also felicitated on the occasion. Sumbly is a renowned painter, whose short bio-sketch was also screened on the occasion.
While lauding the efforts of Vyeth for organising the programme “Eik Priyaas, Pt. Moti Kaul, President of HESK, said that HESK feels honoured for being part of organising such an enlightening programme.
‘It was the blessings of Goddess Saraswati that even in the hostile atmosphere the education kept the momentum of survival going on in last thirty years of exile. Literature forms a big constituent of the culture of a community. Kashmiri Pandit writers and poets have contributed enormously in last thirty years what is called Literature in Exile, Mr. Kaul said. Vijay Bakaya, former MLC, while congratulating Vyeth and HESK for organsing such a programme said that books are a treasure, adding Prem Nath Shad is a poet of repute who has written various poems on socio-cultural and religious topics but his everlasting poem ta ba draas, (And I Left) is a representative poem of exile.
Writers and poets are the cream of the society, he said. Poetry is not only for amusement but history is witness that poetry always played huge part in revolutions and in catastrophes the communities have been subjected to.
Professor Rawal and B K Sanyasi also spoke on the occasion.
Earlier, General Secretary HESK, Dr. Satesh Bhan read the welcome addres. Ramesh Marhatta, a veteran Radio Broadcaster, conducted the proceedings.
A K Raina presented vote of thanks.
The poets included BK Sanyasi, PN Shad, Prof RL Shant, Badri Nath Abhilash, Engineer Vinod and BL Arpan.

Leave a comment: (Your email will not be published)