Posted 21 Sep 2019 12:43 PM


It’s colorful, and grand festivals have made India “A Land of Festivals.”

One such auspicious festival which is celebrated throughout India is “Navratri.”

The meaning of Navratri
Navratri which means “Nine Nights” is celebrated to honor the Mother Goddess Durga.

Throughout this period, Mother Goddess Durga is worshiped in all of her divine forms including Goddess Durga, Goddess Kali, Goddess Saraswati and Goddess Lakshmi.

It is one of the most significant Hindu Festivals which is celebrated twice a year.

One at the onset of summer in March or April which is known as “Chaitra Navratri.”

The second Navratri is celebrated in September or October and is known as “Sharad Navratri.”

Navratri Festival
Why is Navratri Celebrated?
There are spiritual, natural and mythological reasons why we celebrate Navratri for nine days and twice every year.

Navratris are celebrated at the juncture of seasonal changes. One at the beginning of summer and other at the beginning of winter.

At these seasonal junctures, Mother Nature undergoes a major change, and that is welcomed through the Navratris by celebrating Goddess Shakti, who is an embodiment of Nature itself.

Both the Navratris witness temperate weather conditions which is just perfect for big celebrations.

In Hindu mythology, it is believed that Lord Rama started the tradition of celebrating Navratri just before winter.

He performed Durga Puja before he left for Lanka and returned victoriously.

In both of these Navratri’s devotees invoke Mother Goddess Durga who represents the Supreme Energy of the Universe.

She is the inherent energy which propels the work of creation, preservation, and destruction.

The meaning of “Durga” is one who removes miseries.

People worship her with full devotion so that Goddess Durga can remove miseries from their lives and fill their lives with happiness, joy, and prosperity.

Why is Navratri Celebrated for Nine Days?
We worship various forms of Goddess Durga on Navratri with full devotion and dedication.

Navratri honors the three essential aspects of the Supreme Mother Goddess Durga in the form of Kali, Lakshmi, and Saraswati.

On the first three days, the Goddess is worshiped in the form of Kali who is the destroyer of all our impurities.

In the next three days, we adore Goddess Mother in the form of Lakshmi who is considered as the giver of inexhaustible wealth.

In the last three days, the Goddess is worshipped in the form of Saraswati, the giver of knowledge and wisdom.

The eighth day of the festival is popularly celebrated as “Ashtami” and the ninth day as “Maha Navmi” and even as “Ram Navmi” on Chaitra Navratri.

During the Navratri festival, people worship all nine avatars of Goddess Durga.

The nine avatars or forms of Mother Durga are known as Mata Shailputri, Mata Brahmacharini, Mata Chandraghanta, Mata Kushmanda, Maa Skanda Mata, Maa Katyayani, Mata Kalratri, Mata Maha Gauri, and Mata Siddhidatri.

Mata Shailputri is worshipped on the first day of Navratri.
Maa Brahmacharini is worshipped on the second of Navratri.
Mata Chandraghanta is worshipped on the third of Navratri.
Maa Kushmanda is worshipped on the fourth day of Navratri.
Mata Skanda Mata is worshipped on the fifth day of Navratri.
Maa Katyayani is worshipped on the sixth day of Navratri.
Mata Kalratri is worshipped on the seventh day of Navratri.
Maa Maha Gauri is worshipped on the on the eighth day of Navratri.
Mata Siddhidatri is worshipped on the ninth day of Navratri.

Leave a comment: (Your email will not be published)