19th Annual Conference of Statistics begins at SKUAST-J - watsupptoday.com
19th Annual Conference of Statistics begins at SKUAST-J
Posted 07 Mar 2017 01:31 PM


19th annual conference of the Society of Statistics, Computer and Applications (SSCA) on Statistics and Informatics in Agricultural and Allied Sciences, being organized by the Division of Statistics & Computer Science, Faculty of Basic Sciences, began today at SKUAST-J, Chatha Campus.
Prof R B Barman, Chair-man, National Statistical Commission was the chief guest on the occasion while Prof Pradeep K Sharma, Vice Chancellor, SKUAST-Jammu, was guest of honour.
Prof Pradeep K Sharma, in his address, gave more stress on importance and role of statistics in Agriculture while Prof R B Barman highlighted the importance of economics and statistics in day to day life.
Prof Aloke Dey, Fellow of Indian National Science Academy, delivered keynote address on the problem of 36 officers, Euler’s conjecture and related matters.
Earlier, Prof V K Gupta, president of the Society, gave brief introduction and achievements of SSCA. Prof Mallick, Dean, Faculty of Basic Sciences and Convener of the conference, presented welcome address.
Souvenir and one book entitled `Computers in Agriculture’, authored by Dr Manish Kumar Sharma, Dr Anil Bhat and Dr M Iqbal J Bhat, were also released during the inaugural function. Guests were presented mementos and shawls.
Highlights of the first day of conference, included; M N Dass Memorial Lecture by Prof R.B Barman on “Modernization of Information System For Economic Statistics: An Integrated Approach”.
In this conference, about 150 eminent Statisticians and delegates across the country are participating. During this three day- event, many important issues related with the theme and sub-themes of conference covering various aspects of Statistics and allied sciences, are expected to be deliberated. Besides, many plenary talks are also to be delivered on recent areas in the field of Statistics and informatics in Agriculture and allied sciences. The other officers of the university, namely Dr J P Sharma, Director Research; Dr T A S Ganai, Director Education; Dr K S Risam, Director Extension; Dr Dileep Kachroo, Registrar; Dr D P Abrol, Dean, FoA; Dr Deepak Kher, PPMO and T R Bhagat, Estates Officer, were also present on the occasion.
At the end vote of thanks was delivered by Dr Manish Kumar Sharma, organizing secretary of the conference.

Leave a comment: (Your email will not be published)