Four make it to LC unopposed -
Four make it to LC unopposed
Posted 04 Apr 2017 11:43 AM


The Legislative Council today got its second Pandit member with GL Raina being elected unopposed to the Upper House. Along with him, Pradeep Sharma, another BJP candidate, also was elected unopposed taking the tally of BJP MLCs to 10.

NC’s Agha Syed Mehmood and PDP’s Yasir Reshi were the other two candidates who were also elected unopposed.

All members were formally given ‘Certificate of Election’ declaring them elected by Secretary, Legislature, Mohammad Ramzan, who is also the Returning Officer.

Talking to The Tribune, Ramzan said four candidates, two from the BJP and one each from the NC and the PDP, were elected.

“Agha Syed Mehmood from the NC and Yasir Reshi from the PDP were elected unopposed. Reshi was elected when Ashok Bhat from the BJP withdrew his nomination. Besides, GL Raina from Kashmir and Pradeep Sharma from Poonch, both from the BJP, were elected,” he said.

Raina said his priority would be to work on issues concerning the Pandits and his constituency.

Pradeep Sharma said his priorities would be to highlight the issues of people of Poonch.

Leave a comment: (Your email will not be published)